Review: Holika Holika Dust Out Face Spray

Holika-Holika_DustOut_Spray

Product: Holika Holika Dust Out Facial Spray

Price: ~ $10-20

Apparently, the price is marked up twice if you purchase overseas.

Background: Why I Bought It

I’ve always loved the idea of a makeup setting spray or even just a face mist because it’s an instant, mobile, and automatic wake me up and refresher. Yeah, think back to those icky and humid summers that makes you want to spray your face with a shower facet or hose all day long. Since it’s more of a luxury and not an necessity, I’ve cut it out of my makeup routine. I can only compare this to Urban Decay’s Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray which retails for $30. While the bottle lasts quite a long time, I still couldn’t find the justification to buy it when I compared the price to it’s purpose. For me, it felt more like a feel-good product, but I’ve never seen visible differences.

Following that, I really wanted to try the Urban Decay B6 Vitamin-Infused Complexion Prep Spray which can be used as a before or after makeup application. The idea of your face absorbing vitamins and antioxidants, of course, sounds very healthy and nurturing. I never came to get it because it was $33.

I’m open to trying facial mists, but didn’t hear of any in the American market that people raved about. I wasn’t intentionally looking for a facial mist, but a sales associate sold me on one in Holika Holika (Korean brand) when I was in Hong Kong. I’d admit I do all my research online these days before making a makeup or skincare purchase because the options are endless so I was skeptical on this one (because I didn’t do any research prior). For only $10, I don’t see why I wouldn’t give it a go though.

Before I started using it, I did do some quick research and was sad to hear that the few reviews on this product was actually negative. People have said that it made their skin break out. Others have said it doesn’t work as a dust spray. I have sensitive skin (or at least use to think I do), but I didn’t have any issues with the spray.

young woman spraying on face for skin care

What’s it for?

Can be used before or after makeup application to protect your skin against dust particles throughout the day.

How to Apply?

Spray 2-3 times on face post-makeup application.

Pros

  • The packaging is a blissful light blue that reminds you of the ocean. So in that sense, it really makes you want to use it.
  • It’s affordable.
  • The mist feels good and has a cooling effect.

Cons

  • Dust is a problem, but I’m not sure if this is really a product that’s necessary. The beauty market is always being innovative, but I’m not sure if it really works specifically as a dust spray.
  • Some face sprays have a travel size, but this one doesn’t. It’s not a large bottle, but a good medium size, that depending on what size your bag is, it may be extra bulk.

Results

I’m not sure if a dust out spray for the face is necessarily a problem that needs to be solved. I’m more concerned about inhaling dust than it getting on my face because let’s face it, we’ll remove our makeup at the end of the day and we’ll only be wearing it more of less for only 6-12 hours. It’s nothing permanent. I do, however, love the spray as it helps me achieve a more dewy finish post-makeup.

I don’t experiment with foundations/BB creams a lot because it’s a lot of work to find both a finish and shade that matches me; so I’ve been using the same BB cream for 2-3 years now. While the BB cream is smooth and easy to roll on and looks great, it never gave me the dewy finish I was looking for. This spray does solve that problem — and it does so easily!

Like I mentioned, the other reason I like this is the feel-good factor. Who doesn’t want an instant facial refresher (especially in the summer) mid-day without having to mess with your makeup?

Verdict

I recommend this (if you can get it for $10), not for it’s intentional use, but for what I discovered it to be. Compared to other facial sprays that I’ve seen, I do love this one the most for not having to compromise packaging, quality, or price.

Will I Repurchase?

Probably not because I will want to try other products in the same category.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Review: Holika Holika Dust Out Face Spray

Leave a Reply

